Potato Chips!

 Last night as my family and I were sitting on the deck with some great neighbors, my youngest asked me to make pickle dip.  Since all of the boys in my life are spoiled (I mean loved!), I made some today.  For those of you unfamiliar with pickle dip, it is a highly addictive dip that you eat with potato chips (or other chips to your liking if you so choose).  The expectation from many friends and family members is to bring pickle dip when we are together. But then after all the dip is gone and you have left over, sometime stale, potato chips…make cookies!

 Pickle Dip

Ingredients:

  • 2-8oz packages cream cheese
  • 16 oz sour cream
  • 32 oz jar Gedney Jalapeno Babies, finely chopped (*note: Wal-Mart does not carry these)
  • ¼ to ½ c pickle juice
  • Garlic salt to taste

Directions:

  • Cream sour cream and cream cheese together.
  • Add pickles that have been finely chopped to creamed mixture.
  • Mix in 1/4 to 1/2 c of the pickle juice from the Gedney Jalapeno Babies (amount depends on how “soupy” you want your dip).
  • Add garlic salt to taste.
  • Sit down and enjoy with potato chips or chips of your choice.   

 Recipe from co-worker M.W. ~thanks!

 

Peanut Butter Chocolate Chipper Cookies

Oven: 375 Bake time: 12-14 minutes
Makes 7 1/2 dozen cookies

Ingredients:

  • 1 c peanut butter
  • 1 c butter, softened
  • 2 c brown sugar
  • 1 c white sugar
  • 4 eggs
  • 1/4 c honey
  • 1/4 c water
  • 2 t vanilla extract
  • 4 c flour
  • 2 t baking soda
  • 1 1/2 c crushed potato chips  
  • 2 c chocolate chips

Directions:

  • Preheat oven to 375 and line baking sheets with parchment paper.
  • In a large bowl, cream peanut butter, butter, brown sugar and white sugar until smooth.
  • Beat in eggs.
  • Stir in honey, water and vanilla.
  • Stir flour and baking soda into peanut butter mixture and mix until smooth.
  • Fold in crushed potato chips and chocolate chips.
  • Drop dough onto prepared baking sheets using a tablespoon.
  • Bake for 12-14 minutes or until edges are golden.
  • Allow cookies to cool 1 minute before moving to cooling rack.

   For tips on great cookies every time, click here.

 

 

Recipe adapted from allrecipes: tried & true favorites & swEEts by e (http://sweetebakes.blogspot.com

19 thoughts on “Potato Chips!

  1. I could not find Gedney Jalapeno Baby pickles. I even googled it and could not find. Is it a sweet or dill pickle? Any other substitute suggestions?? Thanks

    1. In the past I have used dill pickles and some sliced jalapeños with a little of the jalapeno juice as well. This works in a pitch, but note that it will become hotter the longer it sits.

  2. The pickle you used, are they Gedney Zinger babies? I found those and I am guessing they are the same or very similar? Sound yummy and can’t wait to try!!

    1. Kristin-
      The pickles I use are actually called Gedney Jalapeno Baby pickles. I have not tried the Zingers but I’m sure it would be ok. If you want a little more spice, just add a few sliced jalepeno pieces (not a whole jalepeno!). Let me know how it turns out!

  3. Do you use “dill pickle juice” or just juice from the Gedney Jalapeno Babies? This pregnant lady is excited to try this recipe!

  4. My family has a different version of this dip..the recipe has been passed down from my grandmother…this is an interesting version of it. I love a good dip recipe. I have tweaked my recipe to have ONLY jalapenos (my husband dislikes pickles) We also do not use sour cream in ours. I may give yours a try one day to spice up our life a little..LOL..like you, our family dip is expected when we attend functions at others houses. 🙂 Ours is: 2 packs of cream cheese softened, dill pickles, yellow onions, pickle juice, milk, salt. (i don’t know amounts..it’s a by sight sort of thing.) When I make it for my husband I use jarred jalapenos, red onion, and juice from the jalapeno jar. I’m visiting my mother tomorrow and I’m going to share your recipe with her. Thanks for sharing.

  5. Made this tonight for a party… It was a hit and everyone loved it. I used the garlic baby dill pickles and then blended that along with some of the pickle juice in my magic bullet and it turned out perfect. Thanks for the recipe!!!

  6. I checked the Gedney web site and the brand name is different depending on where you live. Here in CT it’s Cain’s. Del Monte is the brand in another area of the country.

  7. I didn’t spend too much time looking for the Gedney pickles since we are blessed with Wickles, the wickedly delicious pickle from the great State of Alabama. Thank you, very much Bob and Wanda Mann. I just happened to have a jar of Wickles pickle relish in the fridge. So I am draining and straining and hoping for the best.

Leave a Reply

